Home > Programs > CNY International Citizen Awards Dinner

Friday, October 8th 2013 6pm at

Onondaga Community College

Sponsored by

Haylor, Fryer and Coon, Inc.

Click here to jump to the photo gallery!

ICS honors Rosemary Rochford, PhD with 2013 International Citizen of the Year Award

Rosemary Rochford, PhD, Vice President for Research at Upstate Medical University has been named 2013 Central New York International Citizen of the Year. The honor is bestowed on an individual whose lifetime achievement and contributions have advanced the region’s collective vision to building a truly diverse, just, prosperous, peaceful and interconnected global community. She was honored at the 5th annual CNY International Citizen Awards dinner held November 8th. The awards dinner is the kickoff event for the celebration of Central New York International Education Week (November 11-15), which emphasizes the benefits of international education and exchange worldwide. This year’s keynote speaker was Dr. Paula Banerjee, Associate professor of South and Southeast Asian Studies at the University of Calcutta, President- International Association for the study of forced migration and visiting Fulbright Scholar with SUNY Oswego and Onondaga Community College. The event is open to the public.

The International Citizen of the Year award is part of International Center of Syracuse annual awards.

Finalists named in other International Citizen Awards categories

Other recipients in several other categories were honored as well. Nominees in those categories are:

International Educator Award

-Dr. Susan Coultrap-McQuin, founder and Director of the Institute for Global Engagement at SUNY Oswego.
-Dr. Sidney Greenblatt, retired Adjunct Associate Professor of Sociology, and Senior Assistant Director of the Slutzker Center for International Services at SU, past Chairman of the Department of Sociology at Drew University in Madison.
– Robert Bridge, Professor of Music and Chair of the Music Department at Onondaga Community College.

International Student Leadership Award

-Anna Ebers, Ph.D. Candidate – SUNY ESF
-Xiaonan Jia – Syracuse University
-Rachelle St Onge – SUNY Upstate Medical. Roberto Martinez, MD – SUNY Upstate Medical

The Outstanding Immigrant Community Leadership Award

José Miguel Hernández Hurtado, theater and dance instructor with La Liga and founder of the La Joven Guardia del Teatro Latino (The Latino Theatre’s Youth Troupe)

The International Humanitarian Award

Hopeprint, Syracuse NY – Non-profit organization that provides assistance to the areas nearly 800 refugees that arrive each and every year

The Outstanding International Business Award

INFICON, East Syracuse NY – A specialized manufacturer of scientific instrumentation for emergency response; environmental health/safety; semiconductor; thin film coating for display and other industries


Additional sponsorship provided by


Lemoyne College Logooswego_logo_234x84_blk